Posted by: Pam Sorooshian | February 13, 2009

What to blog about #4

What I love about my home town.

I live in Southern California, in what is referred to as “the LA basin.” I’m in Orange County, about 15 minutes up the road from Disneyland.

I LOVE living here. I love living close to one of the biggest and most diverse cities in the world – Los Angeles. We really utilize what it has to offer – we go to museums, theaters, gardens, fairs, sporting events, ethnic festivals, and much more.

I also love the geography. We are about 15 minutes from the ocean – sandy beaches where we’ve spent many many long sunny days and had many bonfires in the evenings. But we are only a little more than an hour from the mountains – which are snow-covered and absolutely gorgeous this week! And, we’re about two hours from the desert – Joshua Tree National Park is my favorite place to go camping.

I love the weather here. Some people from other states complain that the weather is always the same here – but really there is a lot of variety. I love the Santa Ana winds with that soft warm desert air and I love the foggy marine layers. Recently we’ve had crisp cold (mid-40’s) temperatures with a slight breeze coming off the snow-covered mountains. It doesn’t snow where I live, but for those who like snow, there is great skiing and snowboarding only about an hour away.

The best thing about where I live is that my family lives close by – my sisters and their families live within a couple of miles of me. I grew up only a couple of miles from where I live now and I really really love that I know the area so well. When we drive around I often tell my kids little vignettes about the places we pass. I show them where I worked or tell them little incidents that happened to me, little adventures I had when I was a teenager. It is really fun. One of their friends once said that riding in our car was like being on a really interesting tour.

I’ve lived in this area for almost 57 years so I have a lot of little stories to tell about it.

Responses

  1. It IS fun to ride in the car with you and get the tour, with free commentary. We loved it!

  2. I’m glad you wrote this, and even more glad that you have a blog!

    Since you told me that one thing you liked about me was that I love where I live, I’ve thought about that a lot, so I’m glad to see what you love about your own area.

    I was just going to write something today (still will) about how excited I am about going to England again, but why I like being where I am.

    Happy birthday!

  3. Pam, I didn’t realize you were so close! I would have given you a call to say hi when Michelle and I were in Anaheim for Blizzcon last October.

    We may be there for another Blizzcon in August this year, or failing that, the Good Vibrations conference in September. Hope to see you then!

    • Hey Robin – I’d love to get together if you come to Blizzcon! If not – see you at Good Vibrations, for sure!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

